This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.
Alexa

Voice control feedback - comparing Homey and Amazon Alexa and integration via IFTTT

umdobsonumdobson Member
edited April 2018 in Ideas & Suggestions

I am new to Homey and tried unsuccessfully to make my own voice controlled flows.

I have several Amazon Echo/Dots alexa devices around my home. Their voice commands work for maybe 95%

Amazon logs each voice command, and via the alexa app it asks did it do what I expected. 

If Homey had similar functionality it may help users to debug the voice control.

I think it is also essential to be able to selectively disable the in built Homey voice triggers, to be able to avoid strange results.

At the moment I am using Amazon Alexa  to process my voice commands and then invoking Homey flows via IFTTT.

Whilst this incurs delays and extra security issues it does work vey reliably

Tagged:

Comments

• You can see what Homey heard on https://[homey-ip]/manager/speech-input :)
  • @umdobson ;
    Kind of off-topic: how did you get IFTTT working on alexa? I thought the IFTTT-Skill is US only for now. 
    I recently bought Echo dot to improve my homey with its voice recognition. Unfortunately no IFTTT Skill/App with Echo Dot yet.

• Thanks that gives me what it has understood. What is needed is the ability to give a feedback to the server to be able to tell it if it has been understood correctly.
  • I think it is also essential to be able to selectively disable the in built Homey voice triggers, to be able to avoid strange results.

I aggree completely 
  • bob76bob76 Member
    edited November 2016