This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.
API

Web API guidance for a total noob

SliripSlirip Member
edited April 2018 in Developers
Hi!

A total noob need some guidance.. 
I am trying to build a WebApp, I would like to control/monitor specific lights and trigger flows.

I have linked this to my HTML page:
<script type="text/javascript" src="https://cdn.athom.com/athom-api/2.0.109/athom-api.min.js"></script>

From the Athom Developer docs. 
async getDevice(opts) → {HomeyAPI.ManagerDevices.Device}
I can´t understand how to implement this to my JavaScript code, if somebody could give an example code snippet or something so that i could get a starting point.

Thanks! 
Tagged:

Comments

• swtttswttt Member
    The web-api gets binded to the window, e.g. window.AthomAPI.HomeyAPI etc.
    From there on you need to do the authorization, and then you can do the device calls.
  • Guys, I'm a "beginner" too but can't figure out the authorization part (or at least, want to know the optimal way of doing things).

I only want to convert a simple dashboard which I created before (and was integrated with Home Assistant), to my Homey. It will only show the status of some devices and serve as alarm panel. I think the optimal way should be the Web API (and not use the REST api) but don't know how to authorise my account to AthomCloudApi. 

I know I could use homeydash for this project, but I really want to keep my own dashboard.

1. Is my assumption of using WEB Api correct?
    2. Do I even need to authorise to AthomCloudAPI in order to receive device statuses and start flows?