This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.

Alexa to controle flows

Hi there!

I am quite new to Homey, and I tried to find my aswers in the forum, so I hope I don’t ask something stupid.
I did own an echo dot before Homey with whom I was able to control some lights. 
With the new Homey I installed the Homey skill so now my devices show up again. 

The only thing I cant figure out is how to activate flows? Is it maybe possible to convert a flow to a device, so Alexa can trigger the device while Homey triggers the flow? Or is there an easier solution?

Thanks in advance!

Bob

Comments

• You have to make a virtual button in homey that's trigger a flow.
    Then you can ask alexa to turn the virtual button on
  • That's fine too. How do I create a virtual button?
    That's another question I wasn't able to figure out. I can't seem to start a flow, or I don't know why. I can "test" a flow, and it works, but standalone, via app or dashboard, I wasn't able to start a flow.

Let's take a "go to sleep" flow. What if it is time for bed and I want homey to dimm all lights. How can I activate this? Either via Alexa, Homey speech or a simple button on my phone?
  • you have to install the virtual devices app to make a virtual light. 
    you can use that to activate a flow

• I tried a lot, but I can't seem to control a flow with a virtual device. Just a group/"modus" but not a specific flow