This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.

How do you organize all your flows?

Hi, I've been using homey for a couple of months, and I love it.
But after building loads of flows for different things, my flows are a total mess, and at the point of me thinking about just deleting everything and start over. Everything I want to do at home atm WORKS, its just that it's such a paint to follow all my flows, see which have dependencies on which etc.

How do you sort and categorize your flows?
Do you use some kind of standardized naming of your flows?
Do you actively follow a certain approach when you build flows, just for the sake of keeping them easy to follow and understand, or do you just make it work, and then leave it?

Comments

• I have a folder ‘triggers’ which are flows that trigger something. For example a light switch turned on.

i have a folder ‘classes’ that do the turning the light on, alarm etc.

so trigger flows trigger class flows. This in order to prevent flows fighting.

in both folders I have sub-folders based on rooms. And then another level of sub folders to group certain triggers/classes like alarm/movement/lights.

it took a while to convert everything. But it’s easy to debug now. And I often only need to change a single class. 
  • quakerix said:
    I have a folder ‘triggers’ which are flows that trigger something. For example a light switch turned on.

in both folders I have sub-folders based on rooms. And then another level of sub folders to group certain triggers/classes like alarm/movement/lights.

it took a while to convert everything. But it’s easy to debug now. And I often only need to change a single class.