This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.

Homes with multiple homeys

I am new to homey but it sounds fantastic. I am developer of luxury homes in south florida and homey would appear to be perfect for our home automation needs. The houses are reasonably large 600sq/m + on three floors. I guess we will need homeys in each room. My question is this: are they networked to each other? and if so if I am listening to music in one room and move to another room will the homey detect that I have moved (by recognizing my mobile device ) and transfer the music to the new room?

Comments

• EmileEmile Administrator, Athom

Yes, they can be linked together.

Detecting where users are is extremely tricky, but we're working on that. In the meantime, you can automate that with the flow editor.

• thank you...exciting

• Exciting, especially the detecting where users are.....

• One way is to use 3 point triangular WiFi measuring.

• Shouldn't you be able to use Bluetooth / Wifi microphones (or 2.4GHz WiFi IP-cameras with built-in microphones) to expand homey's range to multiple rooms (and have a unique ID to get the info of where the customer is at the same time)?

Just... throwing it out there :P

• jovinkjovink Member

Or a tablet on the wall?

• Sentri or Rico linked to Homey ?

• JeroenKleijnJeroenKleijn Member
    edited May 2015

A tablet on the wall can be used to speak to Homey. Since you can talk to the app. The only questions here are:

If you can activate the speech on a tablet by saying hey homey?

If you can specify the location of the tablet in your house? Fixed position(wallmount) or maybe even moving.

• Fire69Fire69 Member

If they would make a widget with just 1 big button you can push to activate the 'listening function', that would be OK too I guess...