This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.
Closed

is the range of 433mhz better than z-wave?

Hi all,

I have received my Homey last week and so far I am moderately positive. I already had some KaKu devices which I have connected to my Homey. I'm new to Z-wave however, so I bought a Fibaro Wall plug this week. This works, but I find the range very poor in comparison to my KaKu devices which I find unexpected because I thought Z-wave is on a less crowded frequency. 

Z-wave is failing for me already after 6 meters without obstacles. KaKu is still working after 10 meters with a small wall in between.

Is this as expected for Z-wave? Then I would need a lot of hubs...

Comments

• ErikVanDongenErikVanDongen Member
    edited April 2016
    I have installed z-wave switched all over my house. All these powered z-wave devices creates a mesh-network with a good range. Battery powered devices use this mesh network to reach the controller.
    It would not recommend to only use battery powered z-wave sensors in your house.
  • aloftaloft Member
    I have installed z-wave switched all over my house. All these powered z-wave devices creates a mesh-network with a good range. Battery powered devices use this mesh network to reach the controller.
    It would not recommend to only use battery powered z-wave sensors in your house.
    Is this mesh working as expected? Yesterday I installed an extra powered device somewhat further away (and paired it Homey nearby).  Since then (although parallel with the .32 upgrade) , Z-wave is far from stable.  If it is not .32 , I expect mesh networking to be the issue.
  • Strangely (afaik as opposed to ie zigbee), Zwave requires a mesh-table on the controller so if there's something wrong there, a network may become unstable....