This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.
Closed

RooWifi (w.i.p.) for Roomba

Hi,

I have a Roomba 650 vacuumcleaner that I can command via Wifi using a Roowifi module. I'm currently working on a Homey app for this. However, I'm totally new to JS and Node.js so this is really a w.i.p. (Work in Progress) at the moment.

For now I'd just like to know if there is any demand for this app. Are there more people with a Roowifi? Anyone willing to test in a later stage of development?

Also, if you'd like to help with development that would be great. Of course you can only really do that if you have a Roowifi as well.

Happy to hear from you guys!

Cheers,
Pim

Comments

• MarcoFMarcoF Member
    edited April 2016
    Whats your experience with the RooWiFi module? I used it a few months and now its laying around for already a 1 year... this because it just not work, constantly crashing, module came out of socket, range was very bad (tried a antenne, but didn't help), emailed them several times and got totally no response....

Now i use Thinking Cleaner, what also was a bit of a disappointment, but now it works OK. And also very important; the look of TC is much(!!!!) better!

• AaronAaron Member
    I don't know if there are a lot of people now who have the Roowifi module. But I think that some people (including myself) would consider buying the device when we know there is support for it in Homey.

greetings,
    Aaron
  • Kinda the same thing I made for a different device: https://apps.athom.com/app/com.lg.hombot

Might be  a good spot to start your own app.
  • Cool, thanks @jorden !