This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.

Add a way to cummunicate with a Telegram Bot

Comments

• jorden said:
    I am not so familiar with Telegram myself, only have been using it since I found it to be a nice way to send images from Homey....

Perhaps you can try to see if it is possible to add Homeybot to a groupchat, and then use the /register command that the Homey app shows. That might work. 
    I have found the way Domoticz has implemented it, and I think this should be easy to duplicate.
    https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Telegram_Bot

I think this part is what we need:
    https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Telegram_Bot#Sending_notifications_to_a_channel_to_inform_multiple_users

I am not a programmer, so I don't know if this is the way you implemented the Telegram app. But if so, it should be easy to add channels :) If not: is there some way I can help using this bot method to use Telegram?
  • I have started working on de SDK v2 version of this app. So far so good.

This also is kind of a restart for this app. I never had a good plan on where to go with this app, and kinda made it hard for myself because I wanted to do too much.

The new version will have some options removed:
    - The /snap command will be removed
    - The "custombot" settings will be removed, only the default bot is available.

However, the new version will have some improvements:
    - Support for "official" Homey image tokens
    - You can "register" multiple chat users to the same Homey, so when you send a message you can select which user or users need to receive the message