This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.

Z-Wave battery status

Hi all,

I am new to Homey and I have a couple of ZWave devices I would like to integrate with it. Some of these are battery-based. My question is: does Homey automatically send low battery notifications once a device signals this or do I need to configure a flow to monitor battery status for each and every device?

Thanks, regards,
Attila

Comments

• You need to configure a flow, one per device if you're on firmware 1.3.x.

In firmware 1.5 there's a special function for that.. This firmware is only available as experimental at the moment and is to be expected as stable within a couple of weeks.
  • Thanks for the quick answer. Then I guess I will wait for 1.5...
  • VolkovVolkov Member
    edited October 2017
    Having upgraded to 1.5 I can see that there is a flow card An alarm turned on where I can select the Battery Alarm but unfortunately this does not help me much since my devices do not support the capability alarm_battery. Only the measure_battery capability is supported.

So I would need something like "The battery level of a device is below" with a parameter "battery level" and a tag: "Device name" to listen for all battery changes reported in the system and initiate the flow if a "measure_battery" message is received with a battery level lower than configured in the parameter. Then I could configure a notification.

1) Is there another option to check for low battery which I did not find?
    2) If not, is the handling of low battery notifications planned in the future?
  • casedacaseda Member
    edited October 2017
    So you mean the "Sensor Value has changed" card that is also in the devices cards? with battery level in the dropdown
  • Thanks, I have missed that card.