This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.

Is Homey any good??

Ok I'm new to home automation. I'm in the UK, technically competent but not a tech geek. I've currently got LightwaveRF sockets and switches and somfey blinds and control using Echo dot. I'm looking to introduce other products and I like the idea of a connected hub but the feedback on here is very hit and miss about this product with quite a few getting rid of their Homey device. So here's the question is it worth me buying a Homey? What is support like? Can I get a refund if the product doesn't work as I expect? How easy is Alexa integration? What is the range of the product like, I currently use an extender for my LightwaveRF gear.

Is is it still to early for a non geek like myself to get involved and should I be patient and let the market mature. €299 is a lot of money for a white elephant!

Comments

• Just a few Hints for your own decision-making process.
    Please check the Apps for the products you use e.g. https://apps.athom.com/app/com.lightwaverf. This third party app is version 0.0.7 and is not updated for a year, but could work fine for you.
    The Somfy app is genuine Athom https://apps.athom.com/app/com.somfy and updated a month ago from 2.1.12 to 2.2.0 version (not sure whats the difference in function).
    I'm not familiar with Echo dot controlling Alexa myself. Reading the forum I haven't found an out-of-the-box solution.
  • djeskodjesko Member
    I have been a Fibaro hc2 user and I love the way the community / athom come together and make Homey better and better...  And that I can use different protocols in my home.  Don't use speak but uses homeys speaker for different notifications. 

I'm using WiFi,  zwave,  nexa,  and waiting for the Ikea zigbee app...