This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.
Solved

Hue app on phone (Android/iOS)

baboonenbaboonen Member
edited June 2017 in Apps
All,

As a newbie I'm still discovering the potential of Homey. Perhaps you can help me.

When I take a look at the box in which Homey was shipped I notice there's a Hue-part (squared box which makes it possible to adjust light etc) on the phone picture. But when I take a look on my own app, there's only a part for my blinds and my Fibaro wall plug. Is there something I'm missing? How do I add this on my phone?

Also Zigbee should be supported, right? Why did I have to connect to the Hue bridge then?

Regards Bobby
Tagged:

Comments

• HarmLutjeboerHarmLutjeboer Member
    edited June 2017
    You can the app to control your Hue lights. However, I prefer using the Hue app to control my hue light. I use Homey to automate some light like turning the light on when it gets dark, turn on light in the hallway when some is ringing the doorbell, turn all the light off when everybody is away from home etc. 

Homey isn't supported zigbee yet. There is a zigbee chip on board, but is isn't activated yet. In the new firmware update that will come the zigbee chip will be usable. Then it is possible (when the apps get updated) to connect the hue lights directly to homey. Until then you have to use the Homey Bridge to act as an interface between Homey and the hue-lights.

When you add the hue lights to your homey the lights should automatically appear in you phone app.  

• baboonen said:
    All,

As a newbie I'm still discovering the potential of Homey. Perhaps you can help me.