This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.

Is IR not working anymore? Is it disabled?

2»

Comments

• OpenMind_NLOpenMind_NL Member
    edited December 2016

I took a remote control (iRobot Roomba)  and made Homey learn a few signals. Then I took my phone and used the camera to take a look at the IR-radiation. Homey's IR radiation is really really weak compared to the original remote control.

Are you guys/girls (the creators) sure that the ring is not blocking/filtering IR, just like glass does?

And... a little off-topic but comparable... as a sound engineer I know that high sound frequencies are damped by almost all materials. Are you sure that the speech recognition is not disturbed because high frequencies (example: s- and t-sounds) are filtered by the plastic cover??

• MHubert said:
    Martijn27 said:
    Just an update from my end here: I can use IR pretty effectively now, so I'm a happy camper in that regard. Only thing that doesn't work is the IR for KPN iTV, but that's a known issue. Weird thing is that neither the IR remote that's in the DB works (and also doesn't respond to key presses on the actual remote), nor the learned remote.

If I try to switch the set top box on, homey complains about the signal it should send with the learned codes (can't recall, something about too short code needing to be odd or something, can reproduce upon request). Nor does the homey send any IR signal to the iTV at all (no light is shown through a camera).
    Hé happycamper, 

Could you share what you did tot make it work? 
    I just followed the wizard and added all the buttons on the remotes. Only the KPN remote doesn't work so far...