This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.

How to work with Media/ Youtube and Chromecast?

I really don't understand how i must work with the media/youtube and Chromecast functions in Homey.
In media there is nothing to see. In the Youtube and Chromecast apps, nothing seems to work. When i paste an URL it would not find it.

Someone an idea (maby with screenshots from working flows?)

Thanx!

Comments

• As far as I know (I have no personal experience with it), you need two flows to get a Youtube video on the Chromecast.
    In the first flow, you define triggers which start a YouTube movie:
    Search YouTube action

In the second flow, you use the 'Youtube media changed' card to play the newly-found youtube URL on chromecast.
    YouTube media change triggerChromecast cast URL
  • As Koen said. You need two flows.
    Search youtube card (above), you must select video from autocomplete not pasting URL.
    For playlist you paste the playlist url.

So in general in first flow you put YouTube action (search, live, playlist) and on second flow you put media changed trigger which should do something with media url (play in chromecast).
  • I really don't understand how this will work... i get an errormessage if i want to search for a video or paste an URL: getaddrinfo ENOTFOUND www.googleapis.com www.googleapis.com:443

Can someone post screenshots from working flows?
  • how does the media url works, if I go to ipadres/manager/media/ there's only one black webpage with a microphone, I can't add music.

• TheMSBTheMSB Member
    how does the media url works, if I go to ipadres/manager/media/ there's only one black webpage with a microphone, I can't add music.

The media manager is still in active development and will be available soon(tm).