This is the forum archive of Homey. For more information about Homey, visit the Official Homey website.

The Homey Community has been moved to https://community.athom.com.

This forum is now read-only for archive purposes.

IR range limitations of Homey: take a Wireless Infrared Extender

Good morning! 
I have some great experience to share with you. 

If you are interested in using Homey to control a lot of IR devices - this is the best solution for me so far:
EBODE PM10C Wireless Infrared Extender: http://www.ebodeelectronics.eu/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=304]&Itemid=3&lang=en 

I tested this IR extender today and I'm pretty excited.
The main advantage: the IR signals from Homey are being converted to 433MHz signals, transmitted for over 30 meters trough the floors and walls and converted back to IR at the receiver point! And it works very very well. 

My transmitter ("pyramid", half size of Homey) stands just next to Homey and is extending the IR signal across the house to the receiver "pyramids" in different rooms. I have approx. 3 walls and 18 meters between my Homey (living room) and the device I'd like to control in the bedroom (air purifier). And it works! Homey can now control all IR devices in my bedroom! Great! 

This way you can place 1 IR transmitter next to Homey and many IR receivers in different rooms and enjoy the full Homey control over all of your IR devices at home. 

Comments

• MG11MG11 Member
    And in my opinion this is a better solution than KLIKR - since you don't need a separate receiver for every device you'd like to control. 
  • Are they also able to run on batteries?
  • MG11MG11 Member
    nope. unfortunately not. 
  • MG11MG11 Member
    So the great idea would be: to let Homey convert IR signals to 433 MHz and send them out. 
  • MarcoFMarcoF Member
    Why should i use a IR Extender with Homey?
  • BumblezBumblez Member